Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Randolph Model UN students win awards in 2014 conference

Randolph College students won several honors at the National Model United Nations Conference last week.

Randolph’s Model UN team was named an Honorable Mention Delegation. Also, six Randolph students—including five who were participating in Model UN for their first time—won awards for position papers that they authored.

“All the awards reflect the hard work and diplomatic skills of the delegates and the utter dedication to excellence of our two head delegates,” said Jennifer Dugan, a Randolph global studies professor and the advisor for the Model UN team. “I am proud of our achievements this year.”

Randolph’s delegation to the Model UN this year represented the country of Malta. The delegation included 16 students, including head delegates Jacob Lusczek ’15 and Samantha Terry ’16.

Randolph’s position paper award winners include: Sarah Terlizzi ’15 and John Vecchiettie ’14, who served on the UN General Assembly Third Committee; Tsubasa Wantanabe ’14 and Erica Quinby ’17, who served on the UN Industrial Development Organization; and Rickie Scott ’17 and Sebastian Ranasinghe ’16, who served on the UN General Assembly Second Committee.

These awards add to an already impressive list of Model UN awards. The Randolph team regularly brings home awards for outstanding delegations and excellent position papers.

Student travel and participation in the Model U.N. program is made possible by the Sheldon and Chrystine Hicks Endowed Global Studies Fund through a generous gift from Marilyn Hicks Fitzgerald ’68 and Michael P. Fitzgerald.